sunday app cost: what restaurants and guests pay
sunday lists £149 or £199 a month in the UK and $199 or $299 in the US, plus a price per QR code. What a venue pays, what it must ask, and guest fees.

As of October 2026, sunday’s own pricing pages list two plans: Standard at £149 a month and Premium at £199 in the UK, and $199 and $299 in the US, plus a price per QR code (£3.5 plus VAT in the UK, $5 in the US). What none of its pricing pages prints is the card processing rate, any fee on the guest, or the contract length, and those decide what pay at the table really costs a venue.
sunday’s plans and what they include
From sundayapp.com, read on 12 October 2026:
- UK: Standard £149 a month, Premium £199. Add-ons are priced by the month: Click & Collect +£29, Order & Pay +£50, Hybrid Ordering +£49, Payment Links +£29, Loyalty +£49. Premium includes all of them. An A7 QR code is £3.5 plus VAT; other codes and physical onboarding outside London are on quote.
- US: Standard $199 a month (“Everything you need to order, pay, and grow”), Premium $299 (adds loyalty integrations and enterprise tools). QR codes are $5 each; physical onboarding is an optional $299.
- France: Starter €29, Standard €99 and Premium €199 a month, with QR codes at €3 each (read on 12 October by a page reader).
Both UK plans list 24/7 support, go-live within a week and chargeback cover. The US plans list “100% Walk-out coverage”.
A worked example, from the published lines only. A UK venue with 20 tables on Standard pays £149 a month and £70 plus VAT once for 20 A7 codes. Then any add-on you pick, and the card rate on every bill paid through sunday, which you only learn from a quote.
What sunday does not publish
Ask for each in writing before you sign:
- The card processing rate. sunday processes the payments; the rate is on none of the pricing pages read.
- Whether guests pay a fee, in your country, who switches it on, and how it is shown before they pay.
- The contract: its length, renewal and notice period.
- Handheld terminals: sunday offers them; their price is not published.
The same four questions work for any pay-at-the-table supplier. What a QR ordering system costs asks them across the field.
What guests may pay
Two published reports concern fees on the guest’s side.
In May 2024 The Caterer reported a £2.99 “Sunday checkout fee” on a bill at a Big Mamma Group restaurant in London. Big Mamma, whose founders created sunday, said it “added the ‘checkout fee’ to its app payments”, that paying by QR code is optional, that “more than 60% of our clients pay by using a credit card terminal or cash, with no fee incurred”, and that “in some cases a small fee between 0.5% and 2% (capped for big checks) is applied”.
On 9 June 2026 Law360 reported a proposed class action filed in California state court. It alleges that sunday hides “a mandatory platform fee until the last possible moment” in the payment. That is an allegation in a complaint; we found no ruling on it as of 12 October 2026.
For a venue, the practical point is to ask whether a guest fee applies, who decides it, and how it is shown before the guest pays.
sunday and the alternatives
| Product | Published prices | Card rates | Contract terms | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| sunday | Standard (United Kingdom): £149, a month Premium (United Kingdom): £199, a month Order & Pay add-on (United Kingdom): £50, a month Click & Collect add-on (United Kingdom): £29, a month Hybrid Ordering add-on (United Kingdom): £49, a month Payment Links add-on (United Kingdom): £29, a month |
Not published | Not published | sundayapp.com, Oct 11, 2026 |
| me&u (formerly Mr Yum) | All products (Not stated): On request | Not published | Published | meandu.com, Oct 11, 2026 |
| qlub | All products (Not stated): On request | Not published | Not published | qlub.io, Oct 11, 2026 |
| Square for Restaurants | Free (United Kingdom): £0, a month Plus (United Kingdom): £69, a location, a month Kiosk (United Kingdom): £35, a device, a month |
Published | Published | squareup.com, Oct 11, 2026 |
| SumUp POS (Point of Sale Pro, POS Plus, Order & Pay) | POS Plus with Order & Pay (United Kingdom): £39, a month Point of Sale Pro (United Kingdom): £49, a month Point of Sale Pro modules, each (United Kingdom): £19, a month Kitchen Display Screen module (United Kingdom): £19, a terminal, a month Kiosk software (United Kingdom): £59, a month Pay-as-you-go card payments (United Kingdom): £0, a month |
Published | Published | sumup.com, Oct 11, 2026 |
| Volio | 30 days of Pro free, then a plan: see the plans and prices | The venue's own provider | Not published | Volio's plans |
From the Ordering System Price Index: each figure as the vendor’s own page printed it, in its currency, on the day shown. “Not published” means no figure was found on the pages read.
me&u and qlub, the other pay-at-the-table platforms that connect to a POS, publish no venue prices at all. Square and SumUp sell QR ordering inside their own POS, with published card rates. The longer comparison, by what you already run, is in sunday app alternatives.
What sunday does better
- It connects to your POS. Its FAQ: “We currently support Toast, Clover, Lightspeed, NCR, and Micros.” Volio does not write payments into another company’s POS: you match a list at close.
- It is set up for you: assisted onboarding, go-live in a week, and support around the clock.
- It covers chargebacks and walk-outs, as its plans state.
- It has years of restaurants on it. Volio is new: it launched in October 2026.
Where Volio fits
Volio is order and pay in the browser, with its own POS, waiter mode and kitchen display, or beside the till you keep. Each guest can pay their own part and tip before paying.
The fee works the other way round from the cases above: Volio takes a small fee on a bill paid by phone, guests see it before they pay, or you switch to covering it, and nothing is taken when a guest pays cash or the waiter. Payments go to your own account with the payment provider. Every plan starts with 30 days of Pro, free, and a venue that cancels keeps its QR menu online, free: see the plans and prices.
Volio launched in October 2026.
Sources
Pages read on 12 October 2026.
- sunday pricing, UK: sundayapp.com/en-gb/pricing
- sunday pricing, US: sundayapp.com/pricing
- sunday pricing, France: sundayapp.com/fr/tarifs
- sunday FAQ: sundayapp.com/faq
- The Caterer, 3 May 2024: Big Mamma Group responds to criticism over ‘checkout fee’ on its app
- Law360, 9 June 2026: Sunday App Sneaks Restaurant Payment Fee, Suit Says (subscription; the summary is public)
- me&u and qlub (11 October): meandu.com, qlub.io
- Square for Restaurants pricing, UK (11 October): squareup.com/gb
- SumUp Order & Pay, UK (11 October): sumup.com/en-gb/order-and-pay


